Sharing contacts and lists

Sharing contacts and lists in Chalkboard means data no longer needs to be siloed on personal phones or within individual user's accounts - with our sharing preferences, users can control who they share their information with, at any time.

Chalkboard allows you to share contacts and lists with users and/or phone numbers within the workspace, in any combination, or with the entire workspace, without relinquishing control of the information, meaning all your data is held securely.

What are contact cards?

Contact cards make up your Chalkboard phonebook and are a great way to store all the information you need separately from your device's native phonebook whilst allowing you to share this information with the rest of your team.

You can learn more about contact cards here.

What are lists?

Lists are a great way to categorise and group your contacts into usable marketing lists ready to share with your team and use them with our broadcast feature.

Broadcasts are only available on Pro, if you're on the Standard plan you'll need to upgrade or speak to your workspace Owner.

You can learn more about lists here.

Who can I share a contact or list with?

You can choose to share them with individual users or phone numbers within your workspace, in any combination, or with everyone in the workspace - this shares with all existing users and numbers as well as any users or numbers added in the future.

Do I have to share contacts or lists?

No, the sharing option is entirely up to the person that owns the contact or list.

You can always keep them private, which means other users/numbers won't see the contact information or the lists the main number is associated with.

If a message or call comes in from an unshared contact, only the associated phone number will be visible in the messages or calls tab, meaning the rest of the unshared contact information is kept private.

Can I choose the data I want to share from a contact card?

If you choose to share a contact card, you share all the information within it, including any information added in the future.

What's the difference between sharing with a user or a phone number?

Sharing with specific users means that only those users will be able to access the contact information shared, or see/use the list.

Sharing with phone numbers means that all users that have access to the number will be able to access the contact information or list, including any new users added to the phone number in the future.

How do I share a contact or list?

To share a contact:

  • Tap on the Phonebook tab
  • Select the contact you wish to share
  • Tap Manage in the sharing panel
  • Choose to either share with users or numbers or with everyone within the workspace

To share a list:

  • Tap on the Phonebook tab
  • Select the Lists tab
  • Select the list you wish to share
  • Tap Manage in the sharing panel
  • Choose to either share with users or numbers or with everyone within the workspace
How do I know if a contact or list has been shared?

If a contact or list has been shared with you, you'll see the sharing icon next to the contact name in the phonebook - tapping into the contact will show you the owner of the contact.

If you've already shared a contact or list that you own, you can see who it's shared with by checking the sharing panel within either the contact card or the list itself.

How do I stop sharing a contact or list?

To stop sharing a contact:

  • Tap on the Phonebook tab
  • Select the contact
  • Tap Manage in the sharing panel
  • Tap on the users or numbers that you wish to stop sharing with
  • Tap 'Stop sharing'

To stop sharing a list:

  • Tap on the Phonebook tab
  • Select the Lists tab
  • Select the list you wish to stop sharing
  • Tap Manage in the sharing panel
  • Tap on the users or numbers that you wish to stop sharing with
  • Tap 'Stop sharing'
Can a shared list be viewed?

No, if a list is shared, you won't be able to access it like you can your own lists to view the contacts as the person who shared the list may not have shared all the contacts with you or other users.

You can still use shared lists to send broadcast messages to it and you can add/remove your own contacts on shared lists by:

  • Opening the Phonebook
  • Selecting your contact
  • Tapping the list (in the Lists section at the bottom of the screen)
  • Tap Remove from list

You can add contacts to lists, including shared lists, in the same way.

Can a shared contact or list be deleted?

A contact or list can only be deleted by the person who owns it.

If a contact is deleted, all the information stored within it is removed from the app and unshared with other users immediately - all message and call history will remain, but the contact's associated phone number will only be visible.

If a contact or list is shared with you, you'll be able to view it but not delete it.

Deleting contacts and lists removes any associated information from our server and can't be recovered, so always be sure you want to delete the contact before taking action.

What happens to shared contacts or lists if the user that owns them leaves the workspace?

Contacts and their associated lists can be re-assigned to another user at the point of the user being deleted, so no information needs to be lost.

Only a workspace admin or owner can delete a user, so they will need to choose who to reassign ownership to once they take this action.

What happens to shared contact information or lists if the user that owns them is suspended?

Nothing, you'll be able to continue to use all the contact information that the user may own, even if they are suspended from accessing the workspace and information.

Updated 232 days ago.

If you can’t find an answer here, you can always contact our friendly team through the Chalkboard app. Click Settings, then Contact us.